Types of SSL Certificates

What is an SSL Certificate?

An SSL Certificate is a code that provides security for online communications. It is just like a sealed letter in an envelope before mailing it. It enables an encrypted connection when the browser contacts a secured website.

There are three types of SSL certificates available today: single-domain SSL certificates, wildcard SSL certificates, and multi-domain SSL certificates (MDC). What is the difference between the verification process and the verification process required to get the certificate?

1] Single Domain SSL Certificates:

Single-domain SSL certificates apply to only one domain. One cannot use these certificates to authenticate any other part, not even the subdomain of the domain for which it is issued. The certificate protects all pages on this domain; For example, if has a single-domain certificate, then (the homepage of the learning center) is also included in that certificate.

2] Wildcard SSL Certificates:

Wildcard SSL certificates are for a single domain and all its subdomains. The subdomain is under the umbrella of the main field. Usually, the subdomain address starts with something other than ‘www.’

3] Multi-Domain SSL Certificates (MDC):

A multi-domain SSL certificate, or MDC, lists multiple different domains on a single certificate. With MDC, non-subdomains can share domain certificates.



Wherever any material is quoted as sourced from the published text with publishing rights vested in an individual, it is stated that it is a pure quotation and has no intention to claim it as our own.

Image Source:

Get a Quote

Starting a project is just a few steps away...